Free food and weekly shop

I really, really have stuck to the budget in my cyber absence but I have bought some things like rice (£7.50 for 5 kilos) and the like… last week I bought a chicken reduced to £2.85 from £4, which went straight in the freezer, potatoes, garlic, ginger, chillies and a Chinese cabbage, which I haven’t used yet, but I also bought posh goat’s butter – more about that later…and dark soya sauce..and..and
Spring has come extremely late in London, but now it’s here, it’s going great guns, so there’s loads of nettles, wild garlic and other ‘weeds’ that are great free food if you get the young tips. It’s a window of about 2 or 3 weeks, so I’m trying to think of how to freeze some of this harvest, and come up with some recipes to make it a bit more interesting. Basically, nettles (which sting) and dead nettles (which don’t)taste like spinach and are really good for you – however, they are more fibrous, they cook down like amaranth – Jamaican callaloo – which is used, by different names, all over the world. The bestest ever name I found on wikipedia for amaranth is the Nigerian Yoruba -arowo jeja – apparently this means ‘we have money left over for fish’!
Nettle soup is lovely, if a little ‘too good for you’, but how much of the same thing can a person eat in a week – or feed to their long suffering family – so, along with a basic soup recipe, I am going to post a potato, onion, and ‘green’ pakora recipe and one for my version of Jamaican Pepperpot Soup.

Leave a Reply

